Cooper Athletes Among Honorees at Mike Ogg Scholar Athlete Awards

Thirteen total finalists, four sport winners and two school honorees for the Dragons
Thirteen seniors from The John Cooper School were recognized as finalists at the 14th Annual Mike Ogg All-Montgomery County Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, held on May 15 at the Lone Star Convention Center in Conroe.
The annual banquet, sponsored by Rotary Clubs in Montgomery County, provides scholarships and awards to scholar athletes who are exemplary in and out of the classroom.

Dragon finalists who were recognized for girls teams included Kate Burns, soccer; Ava Minarovic, track and cross country and Lisa Alexander, volleyball. Dragon finalists who were recognized for boys teams included Evan Minarovic, baseball; Kyle Wilson, basketball; Matthew Krehbiel, football; Jacob Gunter, soccer; William Staebel, swimming; and Omar Suki, tennis.

There were two male and female athletes who won for their respective sports: For the boys, Evan Burchfiel for track & field and Christopher McDonald for golf; and for the girls, Syuen See for swimming and Vandana Venkatesh for tennis. McDonald and Venkatesh were also named male and female honorees for The John Cooper School.

The 14th annual Mike Ogg All-Montgomery County Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award was sponsored by five Rotary Clubs of Montgomery County, including Conroe, East Montgomery County, Lake Conroe, Magnolia and The Woodlands. The athletes are nominated by their coaches, and are selected on athletic ability, academic achievement, school accolades, community involvement and work experience.