‘Pinched’ Earns Cooper Senior a National Silver Award

2019 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

Art entitled “Pinched” created by Natalie Osmond, a senior at The John Cooper School, has been awarded a national Silver Medal in the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards, after qualifying by earning a Gold Key medal in the regional adjudication. Approximately 340,000 entries in 29 categories were submitted to the 2019 awards that are open to students who are 13 years of age or older.

“My concentration was body image, which is an important topic to me because it is such a prevalent issue among young people,” Osmond said. “I am so honored to have won a national award and it is a great way to leave my final year of photography at Cooper.” Osmond will continue to study art at New York University in the fall.

At the regional level of the Scholastic Art Awards, 18 Gold Keys, 31 Silver Keys and 37 Honorable mentions were awarded to 60 Upper School students. A Gold Key, Silver Key and Honorable Mention were awarded for Portfolios. Twelve Middle School students were also recognized at the regional level; two were awarded Gold Keys, three were awarded Silver Keys and seven were awarded Honorable Mentions. All Gold Key recipients move on to compete at the national level of the competition.

Upper School students who were awarded Gold Keys included Caitlin Blank, Meghan Cloninger (3), Nissy Davis, James Donald (2), Katie Drake, Haley Hinch, Caroline Muhith, Lia O’Riordan, Natalie Osmond, Sebastian Plaza, Xavier Robb, Annabelle Ross, Madeline Sinkovic and Zoriana Sutherland (2). Middle School students Nicolas Lizarraga and Bella Signorelli were also awarded the highest regional honor of Gold Key.

Silver Key recipients from Upper School were Michael Black, Catie Blank, Meghan Cloninger, Emily Cooper, Nissy Davis (2), Gabrielle Drinkwine, Nicholas Harris (3), Haley Hinch, Ruochen Jin, Nancy Lee, Sam Liebbe, Amara Oguchi, Natalie Osmond (3), Sebastian Plaza (4), Zoriana Sutherland (2), Olivia Swanbeck (2), Peyton Tague, Joshua Taylor, Sarah Tindell (3) and Joe Wilkins. Middle School students Flora Johnson, Meredith Schatz and Norah Tinsley were each awarded a Silver Key.

Honorable Mention recipients from Upper School were Catie Blank (2), Emily Cooper, Nissy Davis (3), Vinny DeMonico, James Donald, Gabrielle Drinkwine (3), Katia Guerrero (2), Haley Hinch, Neel Kotecha, Dyland Lewis, Benjamin Marek, Brian Mekelburg, Caroline Muhith, Amber Navarra, Amara Oguchi, Natalie Osmond (2), Sebastian Plaza (4), Abby Prettyman, Maya Robles, Caroline Spangler-Sakata, Madaline Sinkovic, Zoriana Sutherland, Peyton Tague, Dylan Taylor, Cedric Van der Donckt, Ashley Wu (2) and Cathy Zhang. Middle School students who were awarded Honorable Mentions were Elizabeth Askin, Saami Baig, Adam Dural, Amelie Harper, McKenna Chandler, Sophie Kantis and Gonzalo Ramirez.

Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have recognized the vision, ingenuity and talent of our nation’s youth, and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated.